T.S.N.E.M. February – Shhh…

24727094204_2fca9fa01f_n

While I was living overseas, my sister sent me a mug. I used this mug daily. It travelled to work with me (it’s not a travel mug). It has by now seen better days. The handle is long gone and I have to be careful of the side I use. I refuse to toss it.

crayons-9697

It still gets occasional use and was the inspiration behind this month’s project. The TSNEM project for the month was a tactile craft such as candle or soap making. Or to make something with clay. None of the ideas I found sparked an interest.

I have however been testing out some mixed media art projects, so I decided to complete an idea for this month’s project.

24730593383_587db499e2_n

I must confess to trying to combine 2 challenges into one with this project. Adventures in Making announced their DIY Craft Challenge is back this year and I want to participate. My goal is to complete 2 separate projects, but that just didn’t happen this month.

Since the DIY challenge was Stitches & Threads, I decided to try out paper embroidery. Which is essentially stitching on paper.

24730620643_7f392e0639_n

I started by wrapping chipboard with fabric leftover from a dress I made. I used tacky glue. The size of my piece is 6 inches by 6 inches.

25264274731_d4906df4ba_n    24726728354_d036d1fb3f_n

Since we are talking about reading here, I used my Silhouette to cut out a silhouette of a stack of books. I don’t recall where I found the silhouette of books. the file was on my computer. Probably from another unfinished project idea. My original thought was to use dark brown vinyl, but came across scraps of the pleather we used for my Halloween costume and decided it would replicate an old book feel a little better. The Silhouette didn’t cut all the way through the thicker fabric, but it scored it deep enough for me to then quickly trim out the design.

25239073922_08bf65d2f2_n

For the paper stitching, I used a design from Flamingo Toes. She has a Shhhh… I’m reading pattern available. My plan was to use the Silhouette to cut a book page into a decorative shape. I quickly discovered that old book pages are not quite sturdy enough.  I traced a rough shape and then hand cut the paper.

For the stitching, I traced the lettering onto the page. Then using a pin, I pricked holes along the tracing. I’m going to need a little practice getting the holes the same distance apart. Since this paper was fairly thin, I was very careful while stitching not to pull the thread too roughly so I didn’t pull out stitches. I did pull a few from when I places the holes too close together. I was able to just make the stitch longer to fix the stitch.

24989688729_96794dc491_n      24989717009_1cabb545c9_n

For finishing touches, I added a couple buttons to the corners of the paper. I had planned to stitch around the edge of the page, but I kept pulling out the stitches. I trimmed off the little bit I had stitched and left it as is.

25357334345_6d661a6f2c_n

To complete the project, I plan on matting and framing it to hang somewhere in my house.

6 Comments

Filed under Crafting

6 responses to “T.S.N.E.M. February – Shhh…

  1. Rebecca

    I love this! I really like the inclusion of different materials and I’ve always loved the look of stitching on paper!

    Oh, and I totally have a similar mug that I refuse to throw away!

  2. This turned out so cute! Perfect to match up with other challenges, too :) Thanks for joining in!

  3. I absolutely love this! I am a big fan of mixed media (still scared to really try it out myself though), reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and it’s just wonderful. I’m definitely pinning and sharing on FB. Saw your post on the TSNEM link up.

Leave a comment