A Study of Elephants and Dots

24426342726_27731a8cca_n

I’ve avoided MINKY fabric thinking it was similar to fleece (which I can’t stand). However, this summer I was at a fabric warehouse and came across some grey elephant fabric that I knew would be perfect for a particular couple’s new baby.

24426350136_9bca4d02fe_n

While they are having a girl, she wasn’t keen on going all pink. When I found the coordinating grey and yellow dots, I knew I had to try using MINKY fabric.

I have discovered that while fleece and MINKY fabric are similar in appearance, their textures are quite different. MINKY stays soft and silky after washing. There is also a lack of static electricity. Yay! It also didn’t dry out my hands while working with the fabric.

24156969100_4ef06afbca_n

After a quick bit of research, I decided to use a tutorial from Make It & Love It for a self-binding MINKY blanket. Ashley does a marvelous job of explaining each step with very helpful photos. Now that I have made one, I want to make many more.

The blanket came together quickly. Other than me cutting the fabric pieces the opposite of my original intention (I wanted the dots to be the back so I wouldn’t have upside down elephants), it was a quick project.

24452574065_482e787a42_n

After realising I cut the dot fabric to the small size, I cut the elephant fabric a little larger to prevent the elephants from folding around the top and bottom edges. This strategy would have worked had I also cut the dot fabric a bit larger as well.

24370117731_dc32037383_n

Other than a wonky corner, I’m quite pleased with how this blanket turned out. I may need more MINKY fabric.

I’ve completed another stash project (though this fabric was bought for this particular project). I get to go shopping! Or just stay on my roll of using up currently owned supplies it is still only February.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

