Upcycled Denim Roads

I have some of the most darling little nephews. One of them happened to turn two recently. I stumbled across this project shortly after he was born and I’ve been anxiously waiting for him to get old enough to actually play with them.

28628721552_e6e657f159

Missy from How Does She shared a tutorial on how to make roads from old denim jeans.

Thankfully, we’ve been on a cleaning spree and I had a handful of my husband’s jeans available to be chopped into road sized pieces. A quick trip to Wal-mart provided a roll of kitchen drawer liner. I had mod podge and yellow paint on hand.

28656888651_61b8a26872

To begin, I created pattern pieces for the 4 shapes I wanted to make.

28449717540_2741bc7ebc

Using the patterns, I traced and cut out road pieces from 2 pairs of jeans and the kitchen drawer liner. Making certain that I had the same pieces cut from both materials.

28628727032_f0079e57c0

To join the jeans and liner, I spread mod podge on the liner and carefully placed the denim pieces over the liner.

 

For added durability, I zigzag stitched around the outside of each road piece. The original tutorial used hot glue to secure the edges. I couldn’t find my glue gun or I would have tried that method too.

28701903376_43ef1c8db2

Finally, I painted yellow lines down the center of each piece.

28701900226_94ff1314c0

Of course, I couldn’t send it off without testing it.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting

Leave a Reply

