KRUSNING Watercolor – T.S.N.E.M.

26035012516_a365663ec0_m

This lampshade signifies the completion of the lighting for my creating room. I’ll be sharing the complete project next week. I shared my first lampshade project here.

krusning-pendant-lamp-shade-white__0316144_pe516617_s4

Photo from IKEA

I’ve had this IKEA 17-inch KRUSNING floating around my room for nearly a year just waiting for me to decorate it. I knew I wanted to paint it with watercolors. I just hadn’t taken the time to buy paints.

25994624601_3646cc5029_m

Before painting, disassemble the lampshade. The plastic ring in the middle snaps apart. You may need a tiny flat-head screwdriver to help pop open the clips. This way, you don’t need to worry about getting paint on the wrong paper.

I received an artist kit at Christmastime and it contained a selection of watercolor pans. I realise they probably aren’t the best quality, but they suited my purpose. In the event I start properly painting with watercolors, I’ll invest in paint and brushes.

I did a little research and talked with my school’s art teacher about how to go about creating a wash over the entire paper. I tried a couple methods. For my first attempt, I first painted the paper with just water, then brushed on the paint. I think because of the way I mixed the paint and water, it ended up being way too thin. I gave the paper a few minutes to dry before finishing the red wash.

 

For the following papers, I watered my paint and started painting. I think by the time I got to the third or fourth paper, I was finally mixing just right. This is a medium that requires patience and testing.

25788098130_ab63daefff_m

 

Once the papers are dry, you can finish the project. My papers were dry in about 30 minutes, though I gave them about an hour to dry. Stack the papers in the order you want them. I put mine in rainbow order (Roy G Biv – minus the indigo). I stacked them paint side up since it would be hanging from the ceiling. If I do another lampshade, I’ll probably paint both sides of the bottom to papers since both sides show. Snap the plastic center back in. I don’t think it matters which way it goes.  Attach the clear plastic guard and hang the shade.

26035013526_9cf5e870d3_m

I had fun trying watercolor for the first time this month. I wouldn’t mind playing with watercolors again. I’m happy to say I’ve now tried 3 new crafts this year. You can check out the T.S.N.E.M challenge as Swoodson Says and join in next month.

25788091500_68246b8718_n

I’m also still holding strong with my resolution to use supplies on hand. I’m enjoying the feeling of accomplishment that shows up when I finish an in progress project. The room is looking a little messy, but I’m currently blaming that on frequent use rather than just dropping items to deal with later.

25788090470_feb49e368e_n

I’ll see you next month for T.S.N.E.M. April’s challenge is edible crafts. I bake all the time, so I’m going to have to think way outside the box for this one!

 

7 Comments

Filed under Crafting

7 responses to “KRUSNING Watercolor – T.S.N.E.M.

  1. That is so pretty! Does it affect the light at all? I love the textures. Thanks for joining in TSNEM!

  2. Pingback: March TSNEM Wrap-Up & April Link-Up - Swoodson Says

  3. Pingback: KRUSNING in Watercolor | BH

  4. Pingback: KRUSNING in Watercolor | ShoutYourSite

  5. Pingback: KRUSNING in Watercolor |

Leave a Reply

