For the Birds

I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of birds. They tend to like to poop on my head. Though if they were to start delivering my mail, I may change my mind. And my dislike isn’t going to stop me from feeding birds at zoos.

birds

I bring up birds because because the DIY Challenge from Adventures in Making is Birds of a Feather. I went through a vast spectrum of ideas before settling on a variation of an idea I didn’t get to try last month.

25293138463_344877cc91_m

I dug out my origami book and a few pieces of paper. I started by practicing with a 4 x 4-inch piece of paper to make sure I knew the steps. After a few practices, I settled on using a 1..5 inch square to make the crane.

I used scrapbooking paper to make the birds since I have a rather large supply of scrapbook paper. This helps with sticking to my resolution of using supplies I have on hand.

I painted on a coat of Mod Podge to give a little water proofing.

25621265250_03b0e81230_m

To turn the cranes into beads, I took a silver head pin and seed beads. The seed beads were to provide a larger  area in case the holes in the paper stretches any.

25826893421_aeaed2de74_m

I used some 8mm pearl beads and jump rings to dangle the paper cranes.

25621266050_f131bc4ba9_m

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting

One response to “For the Birds

  1. Pingback: MARCH DIY Challenge Roundup

Leave a Reply

