Look Out! Elephants!

24344251132_f395e943c0_m

I swore after making this diaper bag pattern the first time, I was never going to make it again. It took me days to complete. That was 6 diaper bags ago. I’m comfortable enough making them, that I’m considering offering them for sale.

23825746073_e19247807d_n

I’ve liked each bag I’ve created, but I’m quite proud of this bag. This is the first one I’ve made where I have needed deliberate pattern placement. I wanted to make certain that the elephants were centered on the front and back of the bag. Oh, and the bottom too!

24156937070_2b0c45b734_n

I modified the pattern a bit. While cutting out the pieces, I forgot that the side panels fold to create the ends of the bags. To keep the design centered, I shifted everything a few inches. Rather than having corner seams, there are now seams down the center of the ends. This small change didn’t seem to effect the rest of the bag construction.

23824344944_50eb457a73_n

I am quite proud of how well I matched the design of the pocket with the main bag piece. If it weren’t for the gathers from the elastic, it may not even be noticeable.

24156946500_c0323488e8_n

My favourite detail on this bag is the strap. I love how it ties rather than being a continuous strap.

23824336544_b851eb10bc_n

I used the Pretty Bird Quick Trip Diaper Bag pattern from Sew4Home. I now love this pattern. I found the elephant fabric at fabric.com. The lining fabric was found on the quilting cotton wall at Joann’s Fabric.

Who wants a diaper bag?

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

