The Wedding Invitations

Front Cover

After helping my sister make her wedding invitations, I swore I was going to purchase mine until I started shopping for invitations. The options I really liked were way out of price range; the options in our price range were run of the mill options. I wasn’t about to spend more on invitations than I had on my dress and generic wasn’t an option. I did what any self-respecting crafter would do. I designed my own.

Title Page

I wanted to provide a lot of information without all those pesky inserts that tend to show up in invitation envelopes. As we are both voracious readers, a book made sense. Designing the pages took the most time. I spent a couple of weeks agonising over font choices and map selections. Which information was most pertinent. The proper order of pages. Did you know there are etiquette rules for the exact wording of wedding invitations? I now do! Once the pages were designed, I had them printed at Staples.

Invitation Page

The RSVP cards were a little quicker to make. One random evening, I said we should as for a recipe with each RSVP. This would make the card memorable and hopefully provide extra motivation to send the card back. I used a vintage look recipe card from Love vs. Design. I used Photoshop to edit the card size and some of the wording as well as changing the colours to match our wedding. On the back I put all the important RSVP information including a QR code to reply online rather than sending back the card. I also had this printed at Staples using their same day printing option for postcards.

Further Information

While waiting for those pages to be printed, I scoured the local craft stores for cover options. Thankfully, scrapbooking paper comes in many colours and designs. I was able to find a collection that fit the design. I also found envelope seal stickers. Thanks to Pick Your Plum, I own enough Washi tape to cover every wall in our house from floor to ceiling, so I didn’t need to purchase anymore.

Even more information

With all of the supplies gathered, assembling the invitations went a bit faster (We make our Christmas cards, so I have had a little practice).  The first step was to trim and score all the pages so they could be sewn into books. (I don’t have photos of this process since I was concentrating on completing this task as quickly as possible.)

This page intentionally left blank.

Next, I moved to my sewing room, where I stitched together each and every book. This sounds worse than it really was. Just imagine you are making a quilt with 120 five and one half-inch seams. Just a couple of hours of work, no big deal.

RSVP Front

To complete the invitation, I secured two strips of Washi tape over the stitching. This meant I didn’t have to hand tie all the stitching strings.

RSVP Back

I then spent the next 2 days writing out addresses. Then carefully stuffing the invitation into envelopes.

The entire process took me through 6 Harry Potter movies. Not a bad way to spend a few days.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting

Leave a Reply

