Halloween Treats

Halloween Treats

Just in time for Halloween, I have a quick cupcake treat for you to mix up for the kids. They went over well with my students after a long character day walk during school. They were delighted to kick their shoes off and settle into this brightly coloured treat.

I am not one to turn to box mixes, 99% of the time I bake from scratch. Every now and then, a box mix is needed for a quick project. Particularly when the crowd isn’t particular about the taste. Seven-year-olds would be happy with a scoop of frosting!

Halloween Treats

This isn’t a new trick, there are dozens of tutorials on how to make multi-coloured cupcakes. Essentially, you mix together a white cake recipe (I used a box for this project), separate into bowls (one for each colour), and mix in food coloring. Then you scoop a little of each color into your cupcake pan and bake away.

I will give this warning, if you are using a box mix, remember to only fill each cup about half full. Otherwise you end up with towering cupcakes. Which I ended up trimming down before adding the frosting.

Halloween Treats

I used a basic buttercream frosting tinted bright orange. I believe that was my favourite part!

Supplies:

  • White cake mix (or recipe) plus ingredients listed on back
  • Food colouring
  • Cupcake pan and liners
  • 3 bowls
  • Frosting

Directions:

  1. Mix cake according to directions.
  2. Separate into 3 bowls.
  3. Add desired food coloring to bowls (I used purple, yellow, and green)
  4. Scoop each color into cupcake pan.
  5. Bake according to box (or recipe) directions.
  6. When cupcakes are cooled, decorate with frosting.

Halloween Treats

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

