Flapper Laurel

Nearly a year ago now, Colette Patterns released a new pattern. I just had to have it! It was the Laurel. This pattern inspired a flurry of designing in my little sewing nook in our old place (That’s right, this project happened a year ago. I’m catching up on posts I missed last summer). The release of this pattern came with a contest. I just realised I never got around to sharing them properly. You can find a few sample photos on Flickr.

Around this same time, we had a handful of invitations to Twenties themed parties. Rather than spending a small fortune on a skimpy-itchy polyester costume, I decided to create my own version of a flapper dress. After a bit of research, I realised that the Laurel pattern lent itself to the proper shape of a flapper dress. It is rather straight (with just a little shaping) and the length can easily be modified.

My intention was to find a dark fabric such as a navy or black. Maybe even green. But then we (I was shopping with my fiance) found the dangling circles fabric in hot pink and I was in love!

My first modification was with the neckline. I created a deep scoop (deep for me) down the back and a shallower scoop in the front. I think next time, I will make sure not to widen the opening so the straps stay wider than they ended up on this version.

                                             

I also shortened the length of the tunic to end just below my bum. This added a seam to create a dropped-waist look.

The skirt ended up being a little more complicated than it should have become. If you do this, I recommend leaving your lining from the top long enough to also be the lining for the skirt portion. Then you can attach your skirt fabric to the top fabric without worrying about tugging and bunching the skirt. I’m leaving my instructions at that because I cannot make what I did understandable.

                                                         

Finally, I added a wide sparkly black ribbon at the top of the skirt and a massive rosette at the side. They really topped the dress off nicely, don’t you think?

Make It and Love It
1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “Flapper Laurel

  1. wow what a great job!! Your are really talented!

Leave a Reply

