Perfect Pink Pencil Sharpener

It’s not actually quite perfect, but it comes quite close. Let’s start with what is amazing about this pencil sharpener.

I discovered this pencil sharpener while looking for a sharpener for my classroom. I was planning on purchasing an electric sharpener. Except I couldn’t find one in my price range (or even above my price range) that would last longer than a couple of years. An expensive electric sharpener would also mean that I would be sharpening all of my classroom pencils, everyday. I despise sharpening pencils. I don’t mind doing one every now and again, but 40 pencils every day. I can’t be bothered.

I was skeptical when I found the Classroom Friendly Supplies Sharpener. It really seemed too good to be true. I kept reading raving review after review. It seemed no one had anything negative to say about this sharpener. I decided I had to give it a try. I enjoyed it so much, I sharpened 70 pencils for the first week of school! And then signed up to do a review. I even convinced a co-worker to order one as well.

To begin, it is a very reasonable price. It’s $25.00! They even do free shipping on occasion. And if you can convince a few co-workers to buy one too, you get discounts on larger orders. (Though I think they all have to be the same color.)

This is not your old school hand crank pencil sharpener from when we were kids. You know the kind that ate up your pencils and left you with a dully sharpened pencil. This is a heavy-duty metal sharpener, it probably weighs half a pound. The sharpener is one solid piece that has a drawer that slides out at the bottom to collect the shavings. You no longer have to worry that the protective case will fall off mid-sharpen and sprinkle shavings all over you.

Another great feature, is the pencil grip. There is a shiny metal plate that slides out of the front. This plate, has a hole in the center and two black knobs on top. To sharpen your pencil, you pull out the plate, squeeze the black knobs, and slide the pencil into the sharpener. Then release the knobs. The pencil is perfectly in place to be sharpened with a perfect point. You no longer have to be bothered about holding the pencil in place. Just hold the top secure and crank away. The pencil sharpener stops grinding when the pencil is sharpened.

As I’ve mentioned, I bought this sharpener for my classroom. I have a green one that lives there. After a few months of using it on my own. I finally started letting a few students use the sharpener. After a few short instructions, they were good to go. I don’t know why I didn’t let them use it sooner. At the beginning of February, I started allowing all students to use the sharpener. It is still working perfectly. Even after an incident with colored pencils. I don’t recommend using colored pencils with this sharpener.

In six months of continuous use, I have only one complaint. The bottom of the sharpener has 4 black rubber grips. I have found that these grips leave marks all over whatever surface the sharpener is used on. It wipes off easily with a wet cloth, but it’s a bit of an annoyance.

I plan to continue using this sharpener for as long as I teach. I may even start giving it out a birthday and Christmas gifts. I have the pink sharpener for use at home. I received the pink sharpener from Classroom Friendly Supplies in exchange for writing a review.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting

One response to “Perfect Pink Pencil Sharpener

  1. Sean

    The thing that impressed me the most was that I sharpened a dozen of my favorite Dixon Ticonderoga pencils and every single one of them ended up the exact same length. Perfect for someone with OCD.

Leave a Reply

