Ruminations on Resolutions

In 2013, I didn’t make resolutions. Instead, I made goals. I’m sure you are thinking what is the difference. That really depends on your perspective. In my mind, resolutions are things you would like to do sometime this year. A goal is a set plan with a final outcome. I created a list of goals with defined parameters so I would know that I accomplished them.

I know I didn’t accomplish them. In fact, I believe I only fully accomplished one goal. I made it really close to completing all but one. I even managed to keep a fairly good running tally of what I did to accomplish the goals for much of the year (ok, until April!). Let’s review the goals.

1. Use an entire box of baking soda and can of baking powder.

I came fairly close to meeting this goal. Both containers are about half empty. Had I bought smaller containers, they would have been empty. I have learned loads about making baked goods this year. If anyone wants to provide support, I will gladly open a bakery and spend every day baking my little heart out!

2. Use an entire jar of yeast.

I didn’t spend nearly enough time practicing bread baking this year. First off, it wasn’t nearly as popular to take to the office as cupcakes and cookies. Second, I slowly cut out carbs as the year progressed. Bread was one of the first to go since we rarely ate it anyway. I fully plan on making and selling bread in the bakery someone is going to support for me to open!

 

 

 

3. I want to try a new recipe every week.

We tried loads of new recipes this year. As we do every year. I don’t know that we tried at least one every week. Some weeks we would test out 3-4 and others we ate take-out all week. This is something we will continue throughout the coming years since we both enjoy cooking and testing out new foods.

4. Complete one project a month during the school year. And one a week during the summer months.

I admit to being liberal in my definition of projects. I often included projects I did for my classroom as long as it included glue or scissors. Once summer hit though, I was doing a project or two a day. The house looked as if a craft store exploded inside! I think the only way for me to have completed more projects would to have not blogged about any of them. I still have many backlogged to write about.

5. Dragging my boyfriend to various tourist destinations around central Florida.

This is the one goal I know that failed miserably. I’m not saying we didn’t do anything all year. We just didn’t do specifically touristy things. We found ourselves at craft shows, BBQ cook-offs, pancake breakfasts, and many other activities that residents would do rather than tourists.

I fear I’ve bored you with enough ruminations about my goals for 2013. We had a marvelous year. I’m sharing highlights next. We are both very excited to see what 2014 has in store for us. I’ll also be sharing my goal for the year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures!

Leave a Reply

