I now Pronounce…

We recently attended a wedding for a very dear couple. It was a small, private event, and we were delighted to be included. Due to the smallness of the occasion, there wasn’t a registry, but we wanted to give a gift. This allowed me to create a gift that would be special to the couple. It took me a few days to narrow down my final project. I needed to find something that would travel, my original idea of kitchen knives didn’t make it! Inspiration hit while I was wandering around Target looking for a card and other ideas. I saw the pyjamas and thought personalised boxers! Having just completed the Farkle tray for my mum, I knew the iron-on vinyl would be perfect.

I knew I had red vinyl at home, so I found what I thought were black and white checked boxers (to go with the wedding theme); turns out they were navy, don’t tell anyone! Follow along for a quick tutorial on how to create your own.

Items Needed:

  • 2 pairs of cotton boxers in the proper sizes ( I used a med and XL)
  • Heat Transfer (Iron -on) Vinyl ( I bought mine from Pick Your Plum)
  • Iron
  • Silhouette Cameo
  • Silhouette Studio

Directions:

First, open up your Silhouette software (or whatever program you use). Create a new document the size of your heat transfer vinyl. My sheet was 8″x11″. Choose the Pacifico font.

Second: Measure your boxer shorts to find how much space you have to place your cut-outs. I had a pair of medium and x-large shorts. Using the medium’s measurements, I made my cut-outs 4 inches high and just over 6 inches wide. The Mr. was a little bit wider.

Third: Using the text tool, type Mr. onto your file. Select the typing so it is adjustable. Click on the Modify button and weld the letters together. Resize the text to the desired size. Select the replicate button and choose mirror left. Delete the first Mr. and position the mirrored image so it ready to cut. Repeat these steps to create a Mrs. image.

Fourth: Place your transfer vinyl on your cutting mat so the vinyl side is up and the plastic backing is stuck to the mat. I always use a slow cutting setting; usually 2 or 3. And for this project, I set the blade to 4; you only want to cut the vinyl and not the plastic backing. Once cut, weed the design, making certain to get the center of the s. Cut the plastic so the Mr. and Mrs. are separated.

Fifth: Heat up your iron to the cotton setting. I gave mine about 5 minutes to heat up. Take a few minutes to press the boxers, you don’t want to accidentally iron over a fold.

Sixth: Position the cut-out on the shorts where you want them to be ironed on. I placed mine about an inch and a half above the hem and had the end about 4 inches from the side seam. I wanted the image visible on the front of the leg, not on the side, so I didn’t place it right next to the side seam. Now is the time to play around with different locations, once you start to iron, you won’t be able to move it.

  

Seventh: Let’s Iron! I iron directly on the plastic backing. I found that even a piece of muslin stopped too much heat. I keep the iron moving. After about 30 seconds, I do a quick test by pulling up a corner of the plastic. The vinyl should stick to the fabric. Continue ironing until the plastic comes up with ease. (I did find that you can go back later, just hang on to the plastic backing.)

You now have an awesome pair of Mr. & Mrs. boxers!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crafting

2 responses to “I now Pronounce…

  1. Love these! They are absolutely adorable. My Fiance and I are getting married in October and I may have to make us a pair. Thanks for the idea and the tip on NOT using fabric over the transfers! I have so much trouble with the transfers.

Leave a Reply

