Farkle Tray a Tutorial

When visiting my parents back in May, I was subjected to many games of Farkle. For those of you unfamiliar with the game, it is a dice game played with 6 dice. The person to 10,000 points first, wins. (Go here for further details.) It is the only game I’ve ever seen my dad enjoy and play on a regular basis. While playing, my mum has a habit of saying “That’s almost doubles!” after everyone’s first roll. This became the inspiration for this project.  The second part of my inspiration came from my parents using a dish towel to dull the noise of the dice as they hit the table. I thought I would surprise them with a tray to play on.

The most difficult part of this project was finding the right tray. I wanted to find an unfinished wood tray with straight sides and a flat bottom. I checked a couple local craft stores, but didn’t really find anything. I finally found just the right tray at my friend Melissa’s shop Deja Vu Treasures when I went to visit.

Farkle (Game) Tray Tutorial

Items needed:

  • Wooden Tray
  • Paint (I used plum acrylic paint from JoAnn Fabrics)
  • Silhouette Cameo
  • Heat Transfer Vinyl (I used apple green)
  • Iron
  • Duck Cloth (I used unbleached)
  • Low Loft Batting
  • Spray Adhesive

Directions:

I started by sanding the tray. The one I found was painted blue, so I needed to sand off as much paint as possible.

Paint the tray. I used a foam brush and applied 3 coats. You could finish with a sealer, but I forgot until it was too late.

Create a design using your Silhouette software with your quote or chosen design. You could also use pre-cut iron-on letters or draw your design by hand. Using your Silhouette, cut out your quote. Remember to mirror your image or you will be ironing everything on in reverse. Weed around your design. Make certain to get out the centers of all the letters. Anything left, will be ironed on to your fabric.

If you haven’t already, make sure to iron your fabric flat and trim to the exact size you need. My tray was 18×13, so I cut my fabric 22×17 so I could fold the edges over. Place your design on the fabric. This is the time to make any adjustments. Once it’s ironed on, it’s not going anywhere! Set your iron to the cotton setting. Since my vinyl had a plastic backing, I used that as a buffer between the vinyl and the iron. (I did start with a piece of cotton fabric, but the vinyl wasn’t sticking.) I started by ironing the center piece down first. The plastic backing on my vinyl overlapped, so I chose to do one piece at a time.

  
Cut a piece of batting to the size of your tray. Mine was 18×13. Wrap your canvas around the batting. I then hand sewed the flaps down using a slip stitch. You could also use spray adhesive. Set the pad into the tray to make certain it fits properly. Spray the tray with your spray adhesive. Then very carefully set the pad into the tray. Depending on the strength of your adhesive, you may only get one try.


Enjoy your dice game!

A few notes:

I bought my iron-on vinyl from Pick Your Plum, but you can also buy it here.

I used the font Slick Wave, which you can find here.

My mum was also going to add felt pads to the bottom so she didn’t scratch any table tops.

If you would like a copy of my Silhouette file, please e-mail me.

I did add an apostrophe to the word that’s.

 

Added to Made by you Monday’s List.

2 Comments

Filed under Crafting

2 responses to “Farkle Tray a Tutorial

  1. Megan

    Thanks for the note about the apostrophe. I was worried there.
    SUPER COOL project! Well done!

  2. Pingback: I now Pronounce… | sixtyfourcolorbox

Leave a Reply

