Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Blueberries happen to be in season now. At least I believe this to be true based on the price at the grocery store. I don’t think they are Florida blueberries since I know that happens in May just after strawberries in March and April. Since they are in season, we can currently purchase them in much larger quantities than normal. We usually pick up a pint and that will last me for a week of breakfasts. This last time, we picked up a quart of blueberries! No way I could eat that many in a week. 

I had recently found a recipe for blueberry zucchini bread on Intimate Weddings. I’m sure I pinned it because of my love for the chocolate zucchini bread I make on a regular basis. I was hoping this would be just a yummy. With a few tweaks to the recipe, I think they turned out quite lovely.

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

(adapted from here)

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (next time I’m planning on using Coconut oil)
  • 1 teaspoon Mexican vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cups white sugar (next time I’m going to reduce this a bit)
  • shredded zucchini (I think I used about 3 cups, I don’t measure my zucchini, but used 1 1/2 medium-sized zucchini)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries (you could also use frozen blueberries)

Line or grease muffin pans (I used 2 cupcake pans and had enough to make a mini-loaf as well). Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Shred zucchini. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar. Stir in zucchini. In a small bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. Add the flour mixture to the egg and zucchini mixture in thirds stirring until just mixed each time. In the empty flour bowl, gently mix the blueberries with a sprinkling of flour. This will help prevent the blueberries from bleeding into the entire batter. Very gently, stir the blueberries into the batter. Scoop the batter into the muffin pans, filling each about 3/4 full. Bake in oven for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Yield: 2 dozen cupcake sized muffins

I also had enough to fill a mini-loaf pan. Which is good or there would not have been any photos. My fiance and I ate the few I kept for pictures before I took any photos! They were that good!

I share this link on Tuesday Talent Show.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

