Cinnamon Raisin Bread Pudding

Thanks to my efforts in learning how to bake yeast bread, we have found ourselves with an excess of bread. Most of the recipes I use create 2 rather large loaves of bread. Since neither I nor my fiance eat very much bread, we often have at least a loaf left before it begins to go stale.

Rather than amass larger amounts of croutons, I decided to make bread pudding. I’ve never really been a fan of bread pudding. I didn’t particularly enjoy the mushy, liquidy feel I’d experienced when tasting them before. Mind you, these were never home made, I don’t believe. At least I don’t recall my mum ever making us bread pudding. I thought I would give it a go anyway!

Bread pudding is essentially bread soaked in milk. Then mixed with egg and sugar before baking for an inordinately long time. At least that was what my nose kept telling me! I used a Bread Pudding Recipe from Simply Recipes as a guide and altered things from there.

Cinnamon Raisin Bread Pudding

  • 1 loaf cinnamon raisin bread (nearly stale), cut into cubes
  • 1 quart milk
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • Melted butter to coat baking dish

Use melted butter to coat your 9×13 baking dish. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Soak the cubed bread in the milk in a large bowl. Stir occasionally and press down on the bread to make certain all of the bread is soaked with milk.

While the bread is soaking, mix together (in another bowl) the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and allspice. When you feel your bread has soaked up enough of the milk, carefully mix the egg mixture into the bread.

Bake in oven for 30 – 45 minutes. The bread pudding will be done when the edges are brown and pulling away from the sides.

Note: If you aren’t using cinnamon raisin bread, you can add: 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 cup of raisins.

Bourbon Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Kentucky bourbon whiskey

In a saucepan, melt the stick of butter. Then add the sugar and egg. Whisk to blend well. Keep over low heat, stirring continuously until the mixture thickens. To prevent curdling, do not allow sauce to simmer. Whisk in bourbon to taste. Remove from heat. Whisk sauce again before serving.

Adding the sauce makes all the difference. And, your office staff will love you forever!

2 Comments

Filed under Eating

2 responses to “Cinnamon Raisin Bread Pudding

  1. I also have never been a big fan of bread pudding…but this actually made my mouth water. I could definitely see enjoying this recipe (especially with the addition of that sauce!)

    • The sauce makes all the difference. Apparently it’s even better the second day. Though I’ve not had the opportunity to try it as I always send it to work with Sean.

Leave a Reply

