Miss Scarlet’s School

by Kathy Cano-Murillo

Not more than a few days ago, okay, maybe a week, I decided to spend the day reading rather than sewing. Sadly, this doesn’t happen nearly as often as I would like. It used to be that I would sit and read books for days. Now I’m lucky to stay awake for 20 minutes of reading before going to bed! I’m proud of myself so far this year, I believe I’ve already read 4 books! It’s only been a month. Back to my Saturday (or was it Sunday) of reading.

I have been longing to have a copy of Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing since first hearing about the book just after its release date. Various blogs I follow were promoting the book. I, of course, entered all the contests trying to win the book, but to no avail. It even sat on my Amazon wishlist through multiple holidays and birthdays. I gave up hoping for a copy and bought my own. And then received one for Christmas from my boyfriend as well!

The book was as amazing as I had hoped based purely on the title. I had no idea the premise of the book or any knowledge of the author before reading this book. I wanted to read it based on the knowledge that is was about a sewing school. I do this often when I see a book about vintage clothes, dressmakers, and sewing. I figure it’s a topic I enjoy, I’ll probably enjoy the story. I was right on the money with this book!

Miss Scarlet is an up-and-coming designer with an eye for fashion thanks to lessons from her grandmother. We meet Scarlet just as she’s been accepted into the prestigious design school run by  Johnny “Scissors” Tijeras, the nephew of her inspiration Daisy de la Flora. With only a few months to raise the funds, Scarlet decides to open a sewing school to teach her grandmother’s methods of patternless sewing.

As with most chick-lit, everything that can go wrong does. Her jealous boss reneges on allowing the school to be held in her design studios, Scarlet ends up with only a few students, her family doesn’t understand. Yet through it all, Scarlet sticks to her guns and is determined to do anything to go to this school in New York. With the help of her new-found friends (her students), Scarlet very nearly  succeeds. Though in the end, she has the final say in how to make events happen. Will she make the right choices or will she betray those closest to her to get what she believes she wants for her life?

 

Trailer by Kathy Cano-Murillo. you can check out her blog here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Crafting, Sewing

Leave a Reply

