Eating Healthy

I’m not very disciplined at being a healthy eater. I know I could do it, but there are just so many foods out there that taste way to good to give up. Also, I don’t like feeling hungry. So given the choice between cheese and crackers or cucumbers and green peppers, I’m going to choose cheese and crackers. Why? Because I’ll be full longer. Like a few hours versus 30 minutes.

In an effort to eat healthier, I am adding vegetables wherever possible. Like in the sauce that I cover my chicken in. I add peas to a recipe that only had corn. The soup gets spinach. My chocolate cake gets zucchini (that makes it healthy, right?)! I don’t know if I’m being successful, the scale doesn’t think so, but it feels a little better.

Thankfully, my newest Food Network magazine is full of lower calorie meals. Including my new recipe of the week; Stewed Chicken and Chickpeas. Overall, the meal was fairly good. I think I overcooked it a bit, making it a little mushy. My brain also is leading me to believe that I made something quite similar that tasted much better (I have to seek out that recipe). I really think the only reason I didn’t love this dish was because it was mushy, which could be solved by not overcooking dinner.

The taste of the dish reminded me of a dish I loved in Egypt called Vegetarian Couscous. That may have been the garam masala. Which is an easy to make blend of coriander, cumin, pepper, ginger, cardamom, cloves, and cinnamon. Depending on whose advice you follow the mix contains most or all of these. Had I realised how easy it would have been to make my own, I wouldn’t have bought a ready-made bottle as we also own all these spices.

Usually, the first time I make a recipe, I don’t make changes. I like to see how it tastes as is. But this one called for a couple changes. First off, I added a small onion. You can’t have green pepper and garlic with no onion. Along with the onion, I tenderised the onion and garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients. We also didn’t add the Greek Yogurt. I had it on hand, we just didn’t put it on the food. I substituted slices of my Anadama bread rather than pitas. I would recommend naan over pita bread.

To improve the next attempt, I’m going to use smaller pieces of chicken. They will cook faster which will help in not overcooking the sauce. I’ll also cut the dried apricots into quarters instead of halves. This way there won’t be random large chunks in the smaller diced vegetables.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, Photography

Leave a Reply

