Savory…for Breakfast?

Yeah, that’s what I thought. But I’m the one here with the sweet tooth, and my boyfriend likes the savory end. Don’t get me wrong, I like savory as well, but given the choice, I’ll take sweet. Though, the idea isn’t all that far-fetched. We already eat eggs and bacon, that’s savory. A few people even like steak for breakfast. But, a savory breakfast bun? That is just messing around with the perfection that is a cinnamon bun. Unless you side with my boyfriend and prefer the savory flavors. Which makes the Cheddar Swirl Breakfast Buns from Smitten Kitchen perfect.

One of my Christmas gifts was The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman. I have been following her blog, Smitten Kitchen, for a couple of years. I have yet to be disappointed by a recipe. Her recipe book has been the same. Though I haven’t tried all the recipes, yet. There may be a few I avoid, such as the Mushroom Bourguignon (blech, mushrooms!). Though that may be the only vegetarian recipe my boyfriend would be excited about!

My book already has stains!

If I were to review this book, there are a few points I would make. First, I love that there is a story written before each recipe. Sometimes the story is about the development of the recipe, some of them are about what inspired the recipe. I admit to sitting down with the book just to read the stories! Did you know people in New York City often use their oven for sweater storage? I had no idea! Mine often isn’t cool long enough to store anything. Second, the photographs are awesome and one of the reasons I began following the blog. There are photos with every recipe. Photographs are necessary with recipes and menus, or you just don’t know what you are getting yourself into. Just remember not to compare to see whose is better looking. Finally, the directions are clear and concise. I wasn’t left wondering how long to cook something because the instructions said both an approximate time and how it should look. Such as “cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until onion is lightly browned.” I appreciate that detail in a recipe. And one more thing, there is an entire vegetarian section! With about a dozen recipes. I’m not vegetarian, but I still think that is awesome.

As for the Cheddar Swirl Breakfast Buns (you’ll find them on page 49). They were yummy! I ate two! My boyfriend had three. That’s how I know they were really good. The process did take a while. I would recommend starting them the night before and following her directions for refrigerating them overnight. Unless you like waking up at 3 am to start breakfast. These will be made again. But I am thinking about making a couple changes. First, I’m going to half the recipe. The two of us don’t need 12 buns. 6 will do nicely. Though, they did last about a week in Ziploc on the counter. I’m also going to caramelize the onions. I think that will add a little sweet to the mix. I also want to add crumbled bacon. Because everything is better with bacon.

Despite my excitement over this recipe, it will not be typed into this post. I really wanted to share it with you. However for two very big reasons, I will not be. First, Deb over at Smitten Kitchen has not shared this recipe on her blog, so I cannot link you to it. Second, upon learning this, I did some research into copyright law about sharing recipes and learned a couple interesting things. (Woo! a free lesson in copyright law. People pay lots of money to learn this stuff) First, I could list the ingredients, that can’t be copyrighted, but what good is a list of ingredients without the instructions. Second, the instructions are copyrighted. I would have to change the instructions significantly in order to share them with you. I believe that would be doing an injustice to the recipe.

This leaves you with a couple of options for getting this recipe. First, visit me! Second, buy the book (this I highly recommend anyway)! Third, invite me to come visit you to make breakfast! Until then, you can just drool over my photos!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Eating, Photography

3 responses to “Savory…for Breakfast?

  1. The linked recipe would work, just change the filling. Though in the recipe book, even the dough recipe is different.

    I realised that I forgot to add the all important links. They are in now!

Leave a Reply

