Summer Reading Pledge 2012

Once again, Caiti over at Life is a Canvas is hosting a summer reading challenge. I’ve been hoping she would host it again this year. I loved reading challenges as a kid. All the prizes you could win from the library or Pizza Hut. Sadly, we lived too far away from the library for me to read more than the allotted 12 books every two weeks. Can you imagine having the time to read that many books in two weeks. Mind you, these books were 300-400 pages like some of the books I read now are, but they were substantial for a 10-12 year-old to read. Now, I just love the accountability it adds to keep myself reading.

I’ve pledged to read 12 books this summer. I’m not including in this list the books I plan on pouring over for teaching. I’m only counting the books read for fun or entertainment. I’m not much of a planner when it comes to reading books. I may have one or two that I really want to read, but for the most part, I let my mood decide what to read next either from books I have, the list I’ve created, or something I’ve just discovered. Maybe I’m revisiting an old friend.

My list so far includes:

The Plum Series by Janet Evanovich – I have 2 books left to read in the series. I’ve already finished 2 this week.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

 Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt – inspired by our trip to Savannah, GA

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho – I like to read this once a year

I’m also feeling the pull from some of my childhood books like Anne of Green Gables and Little House. I may be reading some of those as well as a few by Roald Dahl. If I read only children’s books, I may have to up my goal!

What is on your summer reading list?

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Summer Reading Pledge 2012

  1. I believe the new book from Deborah Harkness is due out this summer – which I will devour as soon as it is! (She wrote “A Discovery of Witches” which was AWESOME!)

    Also, I hope to finally finish up the last of the “Song of Ice and Fire” series (I’m about half way through book 5 now – the most recently published one). I also have “50 shades of grey” picked out, “hunger games” trilogy, some of the books by Gregory McGuire (I’ve read a few like “Wicked” but not in a long time)…. I was thinking about seeing what all the hubbub was about “Abraham Lincoln – Vampire Hunter” too…. lol.

Leave a Reply

