Chocolate Covered Honeycomb

I took the opportunity of a long weekend to visit my parents in Arizona. We weren’t able to visit over Christmas and I needed some time with my mum and dad. Nobody made any big plans for the weekend, we just hung out and did my parent’s normal weekend things. Which, to my delight involved a trip to the grocery store. I love going to the grocery store. I like to sit down and pick out recipes and make a list and wander the aisles comparing prices and nutrients.

My mom has this wonderful store near here called Sprouts Farmer’s Market. It’s a health food store of sorts, but it is huge! As you walk in, you are greeted by a marvelous bulk selection. It takes up about a quarter of the store. They had baking goods, cereal, rice, oats, candy, beans, nuts, the goes on.  I wanted to fill bag after bag with glorious items!
honeycomb
I was most intrigued by the chocolate covered honeycomb. I’d never heard of such a thing. I’ve had honeycomb before. I picked some up while out apple picking. It came straight from the bee’s hive and was dripping with honey. My brain was imaging a slightly waxy, gooey, honey sweet bite. A little like baklava, but covered in dark chocolate. I was imagining my photos. The piece would be slices in half on a plate with a little pool of honey puddling around base of the piece.

Imagine my surprise when I cut into a piece to show off in a photo and I was greeted with an airy, crunchy center! I should have known. There is no way what I was imagining was a candy that could be sold in bulk! The candy was still delicious. It may even be a project I attempt. For now, I’ll just enjoy the couple of pieces I have to eat!

1 Comment

Filed under Adventures!

One response to “Chocolate Covered Honeycomb

  1. Huh. I’ve never heard of it called honeycomb candy before! I’ve always seen it called sponge candy or seafoam candy. I guess honeycomb works too! :) Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

