Making Pants

I don’t like making pants. No matter how many times I measure and make adjustments, the pants never turn out quite right. I never have any troubles with skirts or dresses. Need a dress shirt, I can do that. How about a tiny little baby dress, no problem. I even made a complete bedding set including the fitted sheet. No problem. Yet, the only pants I have semi-successfully made was a pair of pyjama pants for my boyfriend. Even they shrank in the wash!

There is this fabric I’ve been eyeing for a few months now. The fabric is a dark grey with a light pink pin-stripe. The stripes are about an inch apart. The fabric has a bit of a stretch to it. The fabric would make a great pair of dress pants, that until recently, I haven’t needed.

A couple of weeks ago, I picked up the end of the bolt and noticed there was only a little left.  I decided to bite the bullet and buy the remaining fabric. I also found what I hope will be the perfect pattern. It is a pattern by Vogue from the Alice + Olivia collection, number V1051.

I am doing a “muslin” pair first. I’m not really using muslin, but rather a fabric I picked up at Wal-Mart for $1.00 a yard. If the pants turn out, I’ll have a nice pair of light grey pants as well. If not, then I can still use my awesome pink pin-stripe fabric for a skirt.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting

Leave a Reply

