Apples’n’Onions

After reading The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure, I am inspired to try all sorts of new kitchen projects. I want to churn butter and bake bread. I want to attempt Ma’s Vanity Cake. I’m ok with not trying maple or Horehound candy since I prefer to stay away from foods that stick to my teeth.

The recipe that stood out as the one to try first was Almanzo’s favourite dish. Something simple, apples’n’onions. This dish was usually served with salt pork and all manner of fixings, but we don’t live on a farm and aren’t in need of that large of a spread. I pared the meal down to pork chops. We added a bit of leftover rice at the last-minute.

I’m going to have to agree with Almanzo that this simple dish is delicious. I hadn’t imagined that onions and apples would taste so well together. They combined to make a good sweet and sour flavor. I think next time I may add a bit more brown sugar just to see what happens. Traditionally, brown sugar would not have been added since su

gar was a coveted ingredient. I also plan on using an equal amount of apples to onions.

Apples’n’Onions (adapted from The Little House Cookbook)

Ingredients

4 medium apples

2 medium onions

1 Tablespoon Bacon Grease

1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar

Directions

Cut and core the apples. Then thinly slice apple pieces and onions. Heat skillet and add bacon grease. When the skillet is hot, add the apples and onions. Reduce heat to medium and fry until the apples are soft (about 5-7 minutes). Add salt and pepper to taste.

After comparing various posts of this recipe, I followed the one listed here. I believe next time, I will follow this version  to see if there is much of a difference.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

