Pineapple Upside Down Cake

When I stumbled across this recipe a couple of months ago in the Food Network Magazine, I knew I had to give it a try. Pineapple Upside Down cake is one of my boyfriend’s favourite desserts.  Since I am also practicing the art of individual serving desserts so I don’t have to eat an entire cake or pie; this dessert fit the bill.

Not being a huge fan of cooked pineapple, I’ve never made a pineapple upside down cake and don’t recall the last time I tasted one either. I cannot say how this stacks up against a full-sized cake. The second time making this cake, I did notice that the cake portion was fairly dense, almost like a muffin. I think that may be due to expired baking soda or baking powder. I think it’s time to replace our supply.

There were also a couple of alterations made to the process. First off, I used a muffin pan. I have a large muffin pan that will bake six muffins at a time. The bottom is a bit larger than that of a ramekin. This made it possible to used pineapple rings rather than chunks. I did have to trim a little bit off the edge of the ring. Since I used the pineapple ring, I was also able to put a maraschino cherry in each cake. The second time making these, I covered the entire bottoms of the muffin tins with brown sugar.

I will also say that you definitely need to make certain that you grease the bottom and sides of the baking tin very well.  I also think that waiting until the cake is completely cooled will help in removing it from the pan. I didn’t wait long enough and the gooey goodness of the brown sugar stuck to the bottom of the muffin tins. I also smooshed the bottoms flat so when I removed them from the pan the cakes would sit flat.

Mini Upside Down Cake (altered from Food Network Magazine – June 2011)

Brown Sugar

4 Pineapple Rings

4 Maraschino Cherries

1 Egg

1/4 cup Buttermilk

3 Tablespoons melted Butter

Dash of Vanilla

1/2 cup Flour

6 Tablespoons Granulated Sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of Salt

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 4 large muffin tin spaces (or 4 ramekins) with butter. Cover the bottom with brown sugar. Trim the edges of the pineapple rings to fit the bottom. Place one pineapple ring on top of the brown sugar; add a maraschino cherry to the middle of each pineapple.

Whisk the egg, buttermilk, melted butter, and vanilla in a bowl. Stir in the flour, sugar, baking soda and powder. and salt. Divide the mix between the four tins. Bake for 20 minutes. Let cool, then unmold.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

