Fourth of July Fun

My boyfriend and I spent the long weekend (plus a few extra days) in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. We had a wonderful time surrounded by family and friends. It had been nearly two years since my entire family was all in the same place at the same time. Since only my brother currently lives in Sioux Falls, it was also a time of reconnecting with friends and visiting old haunts.

Lots of Family

Three Generations

Four Generations

I was also excited for the opportunity to show my boyfriend all the places I spent my time growing up. I had not yet had the opportunity to show him my childhood hometown. We enjoyed the nostalgia of seeing what has changed and what is still the same.  There seems to be a lack of photos of such places.

Game Night

 

Game night

 

Game Face

The highlight of the week was celebrating Independence Day. We recreated the holiday the way we remembered them best. We began with a picnic, hiking, and swimming at Palisades State Park. That evening we gathered at a friend’s farm to shoot off fireworks. I enjoy city sponsored shows, but there is nothing like gathering your friends and putting on your own show.

Scaling Queen Rock

Climbing Queen Rock

Happy Fourth of July!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures!

Leave a Reply

