Summer Reading Book # 3

Sue Monk Kidd: The Secret Life of Bees

I’m not certain what took me so long to finally read this book. Maybe it was all the hype surrounding the book. I tend to shy away from books that people rave about. I find myself disappointed by books that people claim to be amazing. I get my expectations up and then the reality of the book doesn’t quite match up. I am not saying the book is bad, just not what I anticipated it to be.

I gobbled up The Secret Life of Bees. The author spun the story in a way that pulled me in and wouldn’t let go. I had to know what happened next. I felt like I was reading a mystery. I guess in a way, it is a mystery. Lily is searching for information about her mother’s life and struggling to prepare herself for when she finds out the truth.

I was drawn to Lily from the beginning of the book. It takes a lot of courage to run away from home to rescue your colored housekeeper from jail and continue running from the law to a place that your deceased mother may or may not have visited. I’ve done some crazy stuff in my life, but nothing near this. I admire the outlook Lily has on her life despite the hardships she has had to face. Even with an abusive father and a deceased mother, she found a way to make her life happy and dream of a future that was positive.¬†There are many more aspects to the story, but Lily’s gumption is what pulled me through the story. I now also want to have a beehive.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

