Big Imaginations

Have you ever handed a child a box of crayons and a pad of paper with the instructions to just draw something? Then, about twenty minutes walk by and ask what their picture is about? You should try it sometime. A child’s ability to imagine anything is astounding to me. It is part of why I want to be a teacher. It is also the reason I agreed to join my friend Kristen of Squeek Photography in our new venture Splendid Play.

Splendid Play is a shop dedicated to items that will encourage the imagination of children. We currently have assorted crowns, tutus, and fabric flowers. We are working on new items every week. I know Kristen has been working on wands. I am working on designs for a super hero cape. I’m sure the product line will grown in the coming months.

This venture came about from a knowledge exchange we arranged. She wanted to learn how to sew and I wanted to improve my photography skills. During one of my visits, Kristen shared an idea that she had seen from a photographer’s web site, a little fabric crown. Following a bit of research and a trip to the fabric shop, we had our first prototypes. I spent the next week tweaking the idea to the crowns we now have for sale in the shop.

Meanwhile, Kristen has been the driving force behind everything that has been accomplished thus far. Her enthusiasm in learning to sew and a willingness to try new things has been inspiring to me. Whenever we get together, she has a new idea to present to me and is excited to figure out how we can accomplish this next project.

If you have any children in your life who like to play dress-up or pretend to be a super hero, please stop by and check out Splendid Play. We currently have a couple giveaways going on. If you are looking for a gift for a child in your life, check out the Etsy shop. I’m adding items on a regular basis.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

