Freezer Strawberry Jam

If you remember from a few posts back, my brother had picked up an entire flat of strawberries to cover his birthday cheesecake. I used about a pint of that entire flat. At that time, we also had a plethora of leftovers in the refrigerator for some reason, so the flat of strawberries had to stay on the counter. In this sort of situation, over-ripeness happens in just a couple of days and my normal routine of eating strawberries was not sufficient in consuming them fast enough. I decided to make some jam.

I searched and researched and finally decided to make the jam using a recipe that required no pectin.  It sounded healthier that way.  I headed to the grocery store to fetch canning jars since we don’t keep those on hand and sugar. While searching for jars, I discovered you can now purchase plastic jars in quantities of five, which suited my purpose better than 12 or 24 glass jars. The package was labeled Freezer Jars, so I assumed I wouldn’t be able to make the cooked jam I was planning. This also meant using Pectin, which I guess isn’t terrible.

Back at home, I set about concocting my first batch of freezer jam.  It was much easier than expected and before I knew it, I was ladling homemade strawberry jam into jars.

Since this was my first attempt at jam, I stuck by the recipe. I ended up using the one printed on the packaging of the jars I purchased. I did make one change. When it came to crushing the strawberries, I didn’t do a very thorough job and decided the jam was too chunky. I pulled out our blender and pulsed the jam just a bit.

This has to be the best strawberry jam I have ever tasted. It’s good enough to eat by the spoonful! I may cut back on the sugar a bit next time; only because the berries were so sweet themselves. If using a tart fruit, I would stick with the full amount of sugar.

Ball Fresh and Easy Jam

Instructions:

4 cups crushed fruit

1 ½ cups sugar, granulated

1 package Ball Instant Fruit Pectin

Directions:

Stir sugar and pectin in a bowl.

Add crushed fruit. Stir for 3 minutes.

Ladle jam into clean jars to fill line. Twist on Lids. Let stand until thickened, about 30 minutes.

Notes:

I used the pectin package made specifically for a 5 half pint batch. I don’t know what that measures out to be if you need to measure your pectin. Also, you can substitute SPLENDA for the sugar.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

