Shrimp Scampi

According to taylor takes a taste, it is National Shrimp Scampi Day! Well, yesterday was since I am posting this Saturday instead of Friday. I just had to celebrate. Rather than heading out for dinner, I figured I could make a special dinner for my boyfriend and me.

I just started following taylor takes a taste because of his amazing food photography. An ability I am still developing. Not only does he post wonderful photos with food, occasionally he takes the time to show how he achieves his results.

I inadvertently used the same Shrimp Scampi recipe from Epicurious that Taylor Mathis featured in his post. I altered the recipe a bit, but cutting back on the butter by a couple of tablespoons and adding juice from a lemon.  It was served on a bed of spaghetti. Since I was going for special status, I added my boyfriend’s favorite vegetable, asparagus. I roasted it in a bit of olive oil, seasoned with garlic, salt, and pepper.

When the pan of asparagus came out of the oven, I was astounded at the brilliance of the green coloring they had. They hadn’t held their color so well last time.

It appears that my intention to start a crafting blog has somehow morphed into a cooking blog. Admittedly, I’ve been doing a lot more cooking than sewing these days. I will soon graduate with yet another certification that may or may not finally secure me a full-time career. For the next week, I’ll be scribbling out papers rather than stitching up a new wardrobe.

1 Comment

Filed under Eating, Uncategorized

One response to “Shrimp Scampi

  1. Sean

    Was yummy, thanks babe :-*

Leave a Reply

