Strawberry Cheesecake

I love dessert. My boyfriend wisely knows only to eat a slice or two. I wish I had his self-control. He also isn’t a huge fan of cheesecake. One of my best desserts. I have been practicing the art of cheesecake making for years. I enjoy eating it so much that while in China I figured out a way to make it with only a toaster oven.

We recently celebrated my brother’s birthday/moving away by having him and his fiancée over for dinner. We grilled steaks, baked potatoes, and corn on the cob. For dessert he wanted strawberry cheesecake. I was super happy about having a cheesecake requested, but not thrilled about having an entire cheesecake left to eat over the next couple weeks.

It was time for individual cheesecakes! I don’t know where this idea started, but I love it! Making a dessert in individual servings. I use this method whenever possible. It means I don’t have three-quarters of a dessert left for me to eat.

I had recently come across a recipe for Individual Cheesecakes at Joy of Baking (one of the many blogs I follow). I followed this with a few alterations. First, I baked my cheesecakes in little ramekins which are a bit larger than a cupcake tin. Also, I only needed 4 not the 12 the recipe would make, so I halved it. Finally, I used an Oreo cookie crumb crust.

Oreo cookie crumb crusts replaced graham cracker crusts when I was once making a cheesecake and all we had at home were Oreo cookies. It was a happy accident. The best part being you don’t have to add any sugar thanks to the cream filling of the cookie.

One last thing, while the strawberries used on this day were fresh from Plant City, we did not pick them. My brother picked them up on the way over for dinner. They were just as yummy. I generally just chop up a mess of the berries to sprinkle on top, but my boyfriend was in charge of this part and he added sugar. I like his way even better.

Individual Cheesecakes with Oreo Cookie Crust and Fresh Strawberries

Crust:

Take one row of Oreo cookies and crush them either with a food processor or by hand. Add nearly a stick of melted butter. I don’t have exact measurements for the ingredients. I just crush cookies and mix in butter until I have the amount I need. Press into the bottom of 4 ramekins. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

Cheesecake (altered from Joy of Baking):

8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg, room temperature

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

¼ cup sour cream

Change oven temperature to 300 degrees. Using an electric mixer (can be done by hand, but that cream cheese should be really soft), beat the cream cheese on low-speed until smooth. Add sugar and beat until combined. Scrape the sides of the bowl and add the egg. Beat about 30 seconds. Beat in the vanilla and sour cream. Divide the filling between your 4 ramekins.

Bake between 20-25 minutes or until firm but the centers wobble a little. Remove from oven to a wire rack. Let cool then cover and refrigerate for a few hours (even better overnight).

I didn’t remove from the ramekins for serving, but my boyfriend highly recommends that next time I do so. Remove from ramekins and serve with strawberry sauce.

Makes 4 individual cheesecake.

Strawberry Sauce:

1 Pint of Strawberries

½ cup sugar

Wash, trim, and cut-up strawberries. Place in a bowl. Stir in sugar. Let the strawberries soak up the sugar, stirring occasionally.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

