Subway Art Pledge…a Tutorial

I know traditionally red, white, & blue are used with decorations pertaining being patriotic, but those colours didn’t match my classroom. I stood in the paint aisle for 15 minutes debating between traditional and coordinating. In the end, I went with coordinating, otherwise the finished product would have bothered me all year long.

This project was inspired by a post from Infarrantly Creative and a July 4th post on how to make a distressed wood subway art pledge of allegiance sign. Since stumbling across the post, I’ve spent a little time exploring the blog and have found some interesting projects.  I was spurred into action by Michael’s Crafts Create 2 Educate sweepstakes. I probably won’t win, but at least I completed a project for my classroom.

Supplies Needed:

  • Stretched Canvas 12×24
  • Acrylic Paint in Blue, Pink, Purple, and Green (or your preferred colours)
  • Paint brushes (I used foam brushes)
  • Silhouette Cameo
  • Silhouette Studio
  • Contact Paper
  • Transfer Paper

To begin, create a studio file using various fonts to type out the pledge of allegiance (make certain to spell the words correctly!). Or if you contact me, I’ll gladly email you my file.

Next, begin to cut the contact paper, I set my speed to 2 and my blade to 2. I ended up dividing the file into 4 sections to do the cutting. I also discovered that you need to select cut not cut edge when choosing a specific portion of the design. If you select cut edge, you are telling the machine to cut the edges of the lines, so it will cut inside and outside your letters. We don’t want that!

Once a section is cut, you can attach it to the canvas. This takes a little bit of work. First, stick the transfer paper to the non-sticky side of the contact paper. Second, peel the backing off of the contact paper and any part of the design you want painted. You will be left with what looks like a stencil. Third, using the grid on the transfer paper, place the contact paper on your canvas. Fourth, carefully peel off the transfer paper making sure the contact paper stays firmly adhered to the canvas.

Before painting, make certain there are no air bubbles in the contact paper. I used my fingers to smooth around the edges. Just before painting, I smoothed the edges again.

Now the fun begins. I began at the top and painted all of the pink first, then blue, then green, and finally purple. Where the words are close together, be careful not to mix the paint colors. Let the paint dry and determine if you need another coat of paint. I think I did about 3 coats.

Let the canvas sit for a few hours before peeling off the contact paper. If you pull it off before the paint is completely dry, you may accidentally pull up the paint as well. I wish I had a photo of this step, my fiance looked cute doing this step for me!

Finally, spray a clear coating over the entire canvas to help protect your wonderful work of art!

I think I have a little touch up work to do, a few of my o’s and a’s lost their center during the weeding process.

2 Comments

Filed under Crafting

2 responses to “Subway Art Pledge…a Tutorial

  1. Woo hoo it looks awesome, thanks for the link to my tutorial

Leave a Reply

