Quilts for Kids

I’ve decided to take some of my precious summer sewing time to make items for children in need. I’m starting off with a quilt. I’ve always wanted to make quilts, but I find after a few squares it becomes quite monotonous. I believe that with a good reason, I can do it. I found Quilts for Kids through Make it and Love it. Ashley has shared a couple posts about the project and has also given straightforward instructions on how to assemble the quilt.

Borrowed from Make it Love it

Quilts for Kids (QFK) was started by Linda Arye as a way to keep fabric scraps from being thrown away. Rather she found a way to use this fabric for bettering children’s lives. The company has grown and now has many sponsors. I recommend heading over to their website and reading all about them. While you are at it, request a Quilt Kit. This is the best part I think. QFK will send you a box with nearly everything you need to make a quilt. All you will need to provide is time, a sewing machine (you could sew it by hand, but that could take ages), and batting. QFK does politely request that if you have the supplies, that you make a quilt or two from your own stash to include in the box when you send the finished quilt back. There are some specific instructions about making the quilts so be sure to check here as you are choosing your fabric.

Since I’m not a quilter, I was delighted to find that Ashley over at Make it and Love it has already written two wonderful posts on how to make a quilt from the Quilt Kit. The first post shows how to properly sew together all the pieces for the top of the quilt (click here). The second post shows a simple way to quilt the layers and to create the binding (click here).

I’m off to sort through my stash to find some wonderful fabric for some delightful children.

I was not asked by either QFK or Make it Love it to write this post, I am sharing this to help spread the word about some good we can add to the world.

Borrowed from QFK's Quilt Gallary

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting

Leave a Reply

